Strawberry on a Rock!

More on regionalism: The local resources for Natural Dyeing. Not just plants!

I live close enough to the sea which is very handy for my beach treasure hunting.

Rocks are among my sea shore favs, nicely colored and shaped. I enjoy arranging them into enigmatic constructions among my plants in the garden. Rocks are also quite handy when I need to press down the edge of an art work, or such. Also, they work great as resists in shibori.

This time I remembered that rocks can contain a great deal of metal ores, some of them do. And being neither mineralogist, nor petrologist, I yet decided to give it a try and see if I could get any mordants acting directly from the rocks themselves, In addition to their mechanical resist properties in dyeing.

01astr

  • So, I chose a couple of rocks nicely colored guessing that those might work better; 
  • I took silk and cotton fabrics, just washed, no mordants;
  • Strawberry leaves;
  • Two vessels: a neutral pot (glass) -for the silk; and my brass pot – for the cotton

In the arrangement above, the rock with the rolled silk is the lower one, and the piece of cotton is bound to the upper rock. The two sticks just for the balance.

The rock with the rolled silk was simmered in the neutral pot (glass) for about 2 hours and left for 10 days before opened. This is what I got:

ro01 ro02 ro03 ro04 ro05 ro06 ro07

The sample with cotton was simmered in the brass pot, as I doubted that a not pre-mordanted cotton cloth would print even in a rock-as-a-mordant situation.

This is what the cotton piece ended up with:

ro08 ro09 ro10

Not much for the printing, ha? 

In both cases I surely trace some iron-oxide virtue! Even if with the cotton sample it is just a ghostly blur.

I only regret that I have not taken some pics of the stones before I put them into use, so much I was captivated by the idea, as they completely changed their colors after the procedure. They turned almost black and new color won’t wash away.

I love what is already there, given by the Nature, within my hand’s reach! And more than that I love the fact that I can use it for my art-work!

Happy discoveries, y’all!

 

9 responses to “Strawberry on a Rock!

Leave a Reply

The Pale Rook

Textile Art by Johanna Flanagan

Janice Paine Dawes @ Wilde Thistle Gallery

Fine Art Textile Gallery and Studio

Obovate Designs™

My dabbling and exploration in contact printing, natural dyeing, and soap making

sharity4

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Priscilla Jones

priscilla@priscillajones.co.uk

Felting,stitching and embellishing fibres

Felting by author,designer Chrissie Day

Local & Bespoke

think globally, craft locally

Sea Green and Sapphire

A blog about a love of colour, addiction to fabrics and joy of crafting...

Friends... French... France...

A topnotch WordPress.com site

h..... the blog

a blog of art, photography and all the adventures inbetween

Conny Niehoff-Malerei

und lebens K U N S T

SERENDIPITY

Searching for intelligent life on earth

Down to Earth

bits and snippets on fiber, mud and life as I know it

Ecofren F & B Community

Blog is about yummy,delicious,tasty....it includes food reviews,food history, recipes, reports and food fun.

Danny Mansmith

picture diary

The Little Green Dress Projekt

Wear it and Compost it

Natural Dye Workshop with Michel Garcia and Sustainable Dye Practice

A film series and discussion forum dedicated to the science and practice of natural dyes and pigments using sustainable methods.

Threadborne

Fibre Art, Eco Printing, Artists' Books, Vintage Textiles

Crazy Coats of Many Colors

Using Crazy Quilt Techniques

gracefully50

On your birthday: count your candles, count your years, count your blessings.

obBLOGato

a Photo Blog, from swerve of shore to bend of bay, brings us by a commodius vicus of recirculation back to dear dirty New York

Happy Doodles

A doodle a day keeps the blues away

