My Day at Atelier Fiberfusing

Hello there,

It’s been a while and I am already missing you all! The temp outside is +15C and I am in the middle of reorganizing my studio getting it ready for the new project.

A perfect time for a new post!

Along with my reflections on the new project, it is an aftersound of my recent meetings that my mind is being occupied with these days. One of my unforgettable impressions is definitely from the day at Atelier Fiberfusing in Amstelveen with the best hostess Dorie van Dijk whose textile art work has been my constant inspiration for quite some time now.

The beautiful landscape of the Netherlanden made an outstanding background for the development of that day!

The Road in Amstelveen

The Road in Amstelveen

The next absorbing thing after reading juicy blog posts of my fellow-artists is for sure visiting the artists’ studios! 

The Working Process at the Fiberfusing

The Working Process at the Fiberfusing

Dorie is checking on her samples with the local growers:

Dorie at work

Dorie at work

The treasure revealed!

The Knot Unraveled

The Knot Unraveled

The result is just delicious to the general accomplishment:

The work of Dorie van Dijk

The work of Dorie van Dijk

Some felting of the black sheep wool in the afternoon:

Ready, set, go!

Ready, set, go!

And this is something I came up with after a while. I didn’t plan on anything particular, rather played by ear knowing that the future piece would be incorporated into a much larger piece dedicated to my long trip this past Fall.

My black sheep piece

My black sheep piece

The piece embodies scraps of silk dyed with plant dyes by Dorie van Dijk:

Dorie's dyed silk bits in my piece

Dorie’s dyed silk bits in my piece

In my felted piece there is a house-like image luckily occurred, actually Dorie suggested it looked like a house. Which is very symbolical, I’d say.

A Little House

A Little House

From this point I know that in my ultimate work dedicated to my Fall trip there will be some nice green part with the road going all the way through the pastures with white swans and black sheep straight to Dorie’s hospitable house!

6 responses to “My Day at Atelier Fiberfusing

Leave a Reply

The Pale Rook

Textile Art by Johanna Flanagan

Janice Paine Dawes @ Wilde Thistle Gallery

Fine Art Textile Gallery and Studio

Obovate Designs™

My dabbling and exploration in contact printing, natural dyeing, and soap making

sharity4

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Priscilla Edwards

priscilla@priscillaedwards.co.uk

Felting,stitching and embellishing fibres

Felting by author,designer Chrissie Day

Local & Bespoke

think globally, craft locally

Sea Green and Sapphire

A blog about a love of colour, addiction to fabrics and joy of crafting...

Friends... French... France...

A topnotch WordPress.com site

h..... the blog

a blog of art, photography and all the adventures inbetween

Conny Niehoff-Malerei

und lebens K U N S T

SERENDIPITY

Searching for intelligent life on earth

Down to Earth

bits and snippets on fiber, mud and life as I know it

Ecofren F & B Community

Blog is about yummy,delicious,tasty....it includes food reviews,food history, recipes, reports and food fun.

Danny Mansmith

picture diary

The Little Green Dress Projekt

Wear it and Compost it

Natural Dye Workshop with Michel Garcia and Sustainable Dye Practice

A film series and discussion forum dedicated to the science and practice of natural dyes and pigments using sustainable methods.

Threadborne

Fibre Art, Eco Printing, Artists' Books, Vintage Textiles

Crazy Coats of Many Colors

Using Crazy Quilt Techniques

gracefully50

On your birthday: count your candles, count your years, count your blessings.

obBLOGato

a Photo Blog, from swerve of shore to bend of bay, brings us by a commodius vicus of recirculation back to dear dirty New York

Happy Doodles

A doodle a day keeps the blues away

